Victorian is top Aussie Secondary Maths Teacher

Mindset learning has proven a winner for Victorian teacher, Hayley Dureau with the Mount Waverley Secondary College Leading Teacher and Head of Student Voice receiving the 2018 Outstanding Secondary Teacher award.
Sep 7, 2018

Mindset learning has proven a winner for Victorian teacher, Hayley Dureau with the Mount Waverley Secondary College Leading Teacher and Head of Student Voice receiving the 2018 Outstanding Secondary Teacher award for her unconventional approach to empowering student learning.

The prize, including $10,000 to be shared with her school, recognises her leadership in transforming maths engagement in and beyond her school. 

Respected globally – she has given talks in New Zealand, America and Denmark this year alone – Dureau believes in giving students a voice and leadership in their learning and employs a range of initiatives to tackle maths anxiety. Her Bootcamps are known for helping senior students to build their maths skills to get the most out of their senior mathematics learning.  

Dureau was named the nation’s top secondary maths teacher at the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) Choose Maths Awards in Melbourne.

“Hayley is a very exciting talent who is innovative and passionate in her approach to mathematics in and beyond the classroom. She is more than deserving of this recognition of her impact as an educator and a role model for Australian and international colleagues,” says AMSI Schools Program Manager and Choose Maths Project Director, Janine McIntosh.

Presented by BHP Principal Diversity and Inclusion, Fiona Vines, a total of 10 teachers were recognised at the  presentation. The $20,000 award for Mentoring Girls in Maths was awarded to Hunter School of Performing Arts (NSW) teacher, Corrine Vingerhoed. Singleton Primary School (WA) Maths Curriculum Head, Sheila Griffin took home Outstanding Primary Teacher. She received $10,000 with half going to her school’s maths program. Seven Excellence Awards, including $1000 were also presented. 

Australian mathematical excellence on show 

In their third year, the national teacher and student awards are part of the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute’s Choose Maths project funded by BHP Billiton Foundation. As well as teacher excellence and mentorship of girls, the student video awards recognise outstanding learning and creativity. 

“Whether in a remote community or our biggest city centres, the creativity, leadership and innovation of this year’s winners sets a new bar for Australian mathematics education,” said AMSI Director, Professor Geoff Prince.

Students reveal why our world needs maths

Themed ‘Our World Needs Maths’, the 2018 Choose Maths student awards encouraged junior, intermediate and senior student teams to explore real-world application of maths.

Three best video prizes were presented at today’s ceremony in Melbourne, with St Matthew’s Catholic School (NSW) receiving top junior honours, Ferny Grove State High School (QLD) taking intermediate team and Geelong Grammar School (VIC) best senior team. As well as a grant to help with travel to Melbourne to attend the ceremony, the teams also received $2000. 

An additional seven school teams were presented with $1000 Excellence Awards with a further 20 Highly Commended Awards to be presented at school assemblies. 

There is a clear link between STEM and Australia’s future prosperity. Having a significant pool of diverse, young Australians with STEM skills will prepare them, and our nation, for the future. BHP Billiton Foundation Chief Executive, James Ensor, said the awards exemplified the Foundation’s commitment to providing opportunities for students to build these skills. 

“The BHP Billiton Foundation congratulates the 2018 teacher and student winners for their outstanding achievements. The calibre of this year’s entries bodes well for Australia’s mathematical capability into the future,” he said.

For more information and to view all the winning student videos, visit

Top Teacher Award Winners

Mentoring Girls in Maths – $20,000 
Corrine Vingerhoed, Hunter School of Performing Arts, NSW

Outstanding Secondary Teacher - $10,000
Hayley Dureau, Mount Waverley Secondary College, Vic 

Outstanding Primary Teacher - $10,000
Sheila Griffin, Singelton Primary School, WA

Teacher Excellence Awards
ACT:  Bruce Ferrington, Radford College
NSW: Lorien Mackriell, Campbelltown Performing Arts School
NSW: Sarah Rose, Singleton Heights Public School
NT:  Fiona McRobie, Tenant Creek High School
QLD: Anne-Louise Gilbert, Eagle Junction State School
TAS: James Milne, Springlfield Gardens Primary School
VIC:  Michael Minas, Williamstown North Primary School

Student Award Winners - $2000 for each category

Best Junior 
St Matthews Catholic College, NSW, Without Maths

Best Intermediate
Ferny Grove State High School, NSW, Pass It On

Best Senior
Geelong Grammar, VIC,  The Mathematician

Student Excellence Awards - $1000 for each team
NSW: Junior: PLC Sydney, Mathematical Chef
NSW: Intermediate: ST Columba Anglican School (Port Macquarie), The Math Revolution
NSW: Intermediate: PLC Sydney, Our World Needs Maths
NSW: Senior: Fort Street Hight School, Our World Needs Maths 
VIC: Tintern Grammar, A World of Disease
VIC: John Monash Science School, Applications of Mathematics & Its Models
WA: Australian Islamic College – Perth, Maths in Biodiversity Protection