2020 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards give a nod to 12 outstanding teachers

The diversity of teachers given the 2020 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award highlights the importance of vision in bringing great education.
Mar 26, 2020
Winners are grinners
Scott Sleap Deputy Principal at Cessnock High is a Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award winner

The diversity of teachers given the 2020 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award highlights the importance of vision in bringing great education.

Their work includes an immersive virtual reality experience to explain chemistry concepts, consulting with local indigenous elders and leaders to implement their language into the school curriculum, and obtaining students’ input on their future subjects so they can be more engaged and find meaningful employment.

Now in its fourth year, the awards are one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for educators. Each recipient will receive a $45,000 fellowship, which includes $10,000 for their own professional development, $25,000 to roll-out a new education project in their school, and participation in an overseas tour to study a high-performing international education system.

The annual Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards, in partnership with national charity Schools Plus, aim to inspire excellent practice in schools across Australia with a focus on helping to address the education gap in areas of disadvantage around the country.

In lieu of an Awards Ceremony this year, teaching fellows will be sent their awards via post. The 2020 Teaching Fellows are:

  • Scott Sleap, Deputy Principal at Cessnock High School, NSW
  • Jacklyn Roberts, Principal at Bakewell Primary School, NT
  • Chris Buswell, Higher Order Thinking Coach, STEM Coordinator Teacher at Mountain Creek State High School, Qld
  • Jay Page, Technology Specialist and Pedagogy Coach at Goodna State School, Qld
  • Sharon Case, Head of Teaching and Learning at Mossman State School, Qld
  • Wendy Goldston, Teacher, Program Coordinator at Frenchville State School, Qld
  • Julie Murphy, Principal at Elizabeth Vale Primary School, SA
  • Scott Dirix, Senior Leader of Alternative Programs at Salisbury East High School, SA
  • Warren Symonds, Principal at Mount Barker High School, SA
  • Jennie Vine, Assistant Principal at Wooranna Park Primary School, Vic
  • Matthew Knight, Principal at Cobram Primary School, Vic
  • Lisa Young, Teacher at South Kalgoorlie Primary School, WA

The 2020 winners will now join 36 alumni from previous years who have been nationally recognised as leaders and experts in their field, and who have made a real difference to their local community.

Nathan Barker, Head of Community Investment at Commonwealth Bank said, “The Commonwealth Bank Teaching awards not only honour educators’ incredible work in engaging young minds to learn, but also recognise a dedication to teaching in areas that need it most. Their work has not only made a positive and tangible impact in students’ lives, it has had a ripple effect throughout their schools, families and local communities.”

Rosemary Conn, Chief Executive Officer of Schools Plus said, “Now, more than ever, the critical role teachers play in our society is clear. These 12 new Teaching Fellows embody the commitment of Australia’s educators to our students. We welcome them to the Fellowship and look forward to giving them a platform to share their practice and ideas on how to change the lives of students, particularly those who are most in need.”

For more information on the Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards visit www.teachingawards.com.au.