Education Today Logo


Education Today Cover Browse Issue

2019 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award Winners announced

News Image

From helping traumatised students to get a second chance at learning, to developing robotics programs that integrate Aboriginal language and culture, 12 inspiring teachers have been recognised for their work in creating long-term meaningful change for their pupils, schools and the wider community.

These 12 teachers are the 2019 recipients of the Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards in partnership with national education charity Schools Plus.

Now in their third year, the awards are one of Australia’s richest for educators, each recipient received a prize valued at $45,000 to assist with their professional development, roll out a new education project in their school, and take part in an overseas study tour to a high-performing education system.

Kylie Macfarlane, CBA’s General Manager of Corporate Responsibility said, “We recognise the important role teachers and schools play in equipping students with the right skills, knowledge and experience to set them up for success.

Rosemary Conn, CEO of Schools Plus, said “These 12 outstanding educators go to extraordinary lengths every day to create a connection with their students and provide the sort of teaching that can change students’ lives. They all share one view – that every child, no matter their background, has the ability to succeed.

The award recipients were chosen from more than 400 education professionals who applied across Australia.  The 2019 Teaching Fellows are:

  • Alison Rourke, Buxton Public School (now at Fairy Meadow Demonstration School), NSW
  • Ashley Stewart, Newton Moore Senior High School, WA
  • Chantel Mirzai, Auburn North Public School, NSW
  • Denise Lofts, Ulladulla High School, NSW
  • Erica Prosser, Holy Spirit College, QLD
  • Jessica Colleu Terradas, Como Secondary College, WA
  • John Townley, Cecil Andrews College, WA
  • Lorraine Evans, Malak Primary School, NT
  • Michael Smith, Marsden State High School, QLD
  • Monica St Baker, Hanwood Public School, NSW
  • Sarah Chapman, Townsville State High School, QLD
  • Sasha Mildenhall, Taylors Lakes Secondary College, VIC

These 2019 winners will now join 24 alumni from previous years who have been nationally recognised as leaders and experts in their field, and who have made a real difference to their local community.

For more information on the Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards visit

11 Apr 2019 | National
AITSL Stakeholder Survey now open News Image

Teachers, school leaders and the entire education sector can have their say in the 2019 Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership Survey which is open now. Read More

11 Apr 2019
Early career teachers get dramatic with NIDA News Image

NIDA continues to invest in the creative practice of early career teachers in primary and secondary schools with the 2019 Creative Ambassador’s Initiative.
Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
New teachers love induction support app News Image

Downloaded more than 17,000 times, the AITSL My Induction app offers expert advice, answers to frequently asked questions and allows new teachers to track their professional wellbeing. Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
Reform of preschools front and centre in election period News Image

Research shows that two years of quality preschool sets a child up for success, and happily the issue is gaining traction with politicians.
Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
Domestic violence causes homelessness News Image

The number of people seeking help from homelessness services due to domestic and family violence has risen in recent years but only 4% of those who approached a homelessness service for long-term housing actually received it. Read More