Education Today Logo


Education Today Cover Browse Issue

2018 ANU Tuckwell Scholarship recipients announced

News Image

Image – 2018 ANU Tuckwell Scholarship recipients

The Australian National University (ANU) announced the recipients of the 2018 round of the Tuckwell Scholarship.

As scholarship recipients each of the 25 students from around Australia will receive over $21,000 per year towards their studies for up to five years, as well as mentoring from senior ANU leaders and researchers.

The scholarship program was founded in 2013 by philanthropists Graham and Louise Tuckwell.

“What is particularly pleasing is that we are seeing more really strong applicants from regional and remote parts of Australia,” Graham Tuckwell said.

“The scholarship isn’t just about rewarding academic excellence, it’s about finding those future leaders who are already making valuable contributions to their community even at such a young age.”

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program was founded in 2013 and is funded by a generous personal philanthropic contribution worth about $200 million to the University over 30 years.

The philanthropic contribution includes construction of two new halls of residence at ANU and a $10 million Scholars House building, which will be the academic and social heart of the Tuckwell Scholarship program.

The first scholarship recipients began their studies in 2014.

Full list of 2018 Tuckwell Scholarship winners


Jocelyn Abbott, Abbotsleigh
Vanessa Divet, Gosford High School
Jacob Ellis, Casino High School
Ben Jefferson, Sydney Church of England Grammar School
Jonny Lang, Knox Grammar School
Jade Lin, Presbyterian Ladies' College - Sydney
Ryan Mannes, Coleambally Central School
Lizzy Mee, Merewether High School
Kelly Russell, Oxley High School
Renee Selvey, Kooringal High School
Toby Tasker, Cranbrook School

Emily Davidson, Beenleigh State High School
Kieran Hamley, All Saints Anglican School
Noah Hinds, Flagstone State Community College
Thomas La, Brisbane Grammar School
Meghan Malone, Mackay North State High School
Harrison Rieck, Villanova College
Ruby Turner, St Aidan's Anglican Girls School

Gemma Nunn, Bordertown High School

Tom Dunbabin, The Hutchins School

Ben Durkin, Brighton Grammar School
Hayley Yates, Sacre Coeur

Mia Judkins, Perth Modern Schoolz
Isabel Longbottom, Rossmoyne Senior High School
Ollie Pulsford, Perth Modern School

17 Oct 2019 | Qld
Opera Queensland Education Program and in-schools outreach News Image

Opera Queensland is touring performances of The Frog Prince and La Boheme with primary schools included for the first time.
Read More

16 Oct 2019
Uniform rules needed for school uniforms News Image

Allowing girls to wear shorts and trousers to school has been surprisingly controversial and some rigour around debate on the issue has been introduced with recent research on the topic. Read More

16 Oct 2019
Combine classroom academics with physical activity News Image

We don't get enough exercise, kids and adults alike, it’s to do with time, we all lead super busy lives, that and motivation, it’s far too easy to switch on the TV to watch others do the sport and dial Ubereats. Read More

15 Oct 2019 | National
Talk-and-walk-a-thon for peer support News Image

Talk-And-Walk-A-Thon is a new nationwide initiative by Peer Support Australia where students put down their phones, connect with their peers face to face and get some exercise. Read More

15 Oct 2019
Phonics apps helping struggling kids News Image

A suite of apps used by over 25,000 Australian educators could be a winner for preschoolers with language difficulties.
Read More