Education Today Logo


Education Today Cover Browse Issue

Outstanding teachers recognised in WA 2017 Education Awards

Outstanding teachers, administrators and schools have been recognised in the 2017 WA Education Awards. The individual award winners received $25,000, 50% for professional development and 50% cash. Finalists in each category received $2500. The primary and secondary schools and The WA Premier’s Excellence in Aboriginal Education winners received $15000 and finalists $2500.

The awards were sponsored by Edith Cowan University, Teachers Health, fotoworks, hit92.9, KineticIT, BHP, Teachers Mutual bank and Civica.

The teachers

Beginning Teacher of the Year
Deborah Yates, Ashdale Secondary College

“I love having a laugh with my students and that feeling you get when the class is working together on a great project.” 

WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year
Jeanette Hayden, Merredin College

“I know from my own personal experience that education is vitally important so what I do in getting students to school is the first part of that process.” 

WA Premier's Primary Teacher of the Year
Carl Sanderson, Wattle Grove Primary School

“I’m always telling my students that the willingness to work hard, persist when things are tough, and being able to bounce back from setbacks is far more important than IQ."

WA Premier's Secondary Teacher of the Year
Jade Warrington, Newton Moore Senior High School

“Through group work and problem solving, I like to make sure students are confident when they go out in the real world and look for jobs."

WA Primary Principal of the Year
Lisa Criddle, Allendale Primary School

“I love going into kindy and pre-primary if the day has been extra challenging to be part of what they are doing.”  

WA Secondary Principal of the Year
Armando Giglia, Butler College

“It may sound like a cliché, but we’re a family. We always say to anyone ‘you walk through the college gates, you’re part of our family’. We treat everyone that way.”

Other awards

WA Primary School of the Year
Jolimont Primary School

WA Senior School of the Year
Carine Senior High School

WA Education Assistant of the Year
Karen Warren, Challis Community Primary School

WA Excellence in Aboriginal Education
Bayulu Remote Community School

WA School Services Staff Member of the Year
Michelle Dirksz, Rockingham Senior High School


11 Apr 2019 | National
AITSL Stakeholder Survey now open News Image

Teachers, school leaders and the entire education sector can have their say in the 2019 Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership Survey which is open now. Read More

11 Apr 2019
Early career teachers get dramatic with NIDA News Image

NIDA continues to invest in the creative practice of early career teachers in primary and secondary schools with the 2019 Creative Ambassador’s Initiative.
Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
New teachers love induction support app News Image

Downloaded more than 17,000 times, the AITSL My Induction app offers expert advice, answers to frequently asked questions and allows new teachers to track their professional wellbeing. Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
Reform of preschools front and centre in election period News Image

Research shows that two years of quality preschool sets a child up for success, and happily the issue is gaining traction with politicians.
Read More

10 Apr 2019 | National
Domestic violence causes homelessness News Image

The number of people seeking help from homelessness services due to domestic and family violence has risen in recent years but only 4% of those who approached a homelessness service for long-term housing actually received it. Read More